British & Commonwealth Orders of Battle

1 SA Infantry Div ] 2 SA Infantry Div ] [ 3 SA Infantry Div ] 6 SA Armoured Div ]
Up ] 7 SA Motorised Brigade ] 8 SA Infantry Bde ] 9 SA Infantry Bde ] 10 SA Infantry Bde ]


3 SA Infantry Div

An Introduction
Campaigns & Battles
The Burma Campaign
UK Book Store


Old South African flag

(divisional symbol)3sasign.gif (1828 bytes)


3 South African Infantry Division
23-Oct-40 The division is formed in South Africa, HQ based at Pretoria
The division's role is organisation and training of home defence forces, garrison duties and
replacements for 1 and 2 Divisions.  Based at Pretoria until 1942, the division then moved to
Ermerlo in Eastern Transvaal, although its units were scattered as far as South West Africa.
04-Apr-42 Redesignated 3 South African Armoured Division


23-Aug-40 Maj Gen M Botha

Divisional Troops

Field Regiments

6th Field Regiment, SAA 27-Jan-41 04-Apr-42

Field Companies

10th Field Company, SA Engineers 23-Oct-40 16-Jan-41

12th Field Company, SA Engineers Oct-41 04-Apr-42

16th Field Company, SA Engineers Oct-41 04-Apr-42

9th Field Company, SA Engineers 23-Oct-40 06-Jan-41

Field Park Companies

17th Field Park Squadron, SA Engineers 09-Jan-42 04-Apr-42

Field Squadrons

8th Field Squadron, SA Engineers 23-Oct-40 04-Apr-42

Machine Gun

Special Service Battalion Jun-41 03-Apr-42

7 SA Motorised Brigade 23-Oct-40 04-Apr-42

1st Pretoria Highlanders Dec-41 Nov-42

1st Pretoria Regiment 23-Jul-40 09-Feb-43

1st Witwatersrand Rifles 11-Jul-40 31-Jan-41 attached

Prince Alfred's Guard 01-Jan-43 09-Feb-43

Regiment de la Rey 18-Jul-40 01-Dec-41

The First City Regiment 18-Jun-40 31-Dec-42

6th Field Regiment, SAA 16-Jun-42 07-Dec-42 dates approx

88th Field Company, SA Engineers 16-Jun-42 07-Dec-42 dates approx

A Squadron, 1st Armoured Car Commando, SA Tank Corps 16-Jun-42 07-Dec-42
8 SA Infantry Brigade 23-Oct-40 01-Nov-40

1st Cape Town Highlanders 01-Jul-40 06-Nov-40

Prince Alfred's Guard Jul-40 Nov-40

The First City Regiment Jul-40 Nov-40
9 SA Infantry Brigade 23-Oct-40 01-Oct-41

Cape Town Highlanders 06-Nov-40 06-Jan-41

1st Pretoria Highlanders Nov-40 26-Sep-41

1st Regiment Botha Sep-40 Nov-40

Jan-41 Oct-41

2nd Natal Mounted Rifles 23-Nov-40 Apr-41

2nd Pretoria Regiment Sep-40 Oct-40

2nd Rand Light Infantry Feb-41 Oct-41

2nd Royal Natal Carabineers 09-Sep-40 03-Oct-40

2nd Transvaal Scottish 04-Sep-40 21-Nov-40

Die Middllandse Regiment 01-Jul-40 22-Mar-41

Regiment President Steyn 15-Jul-40 22-Nov-40

Regiment Westelike Provinsie 01-Jul-40 01-Sep-40

The First City Regiment Apr-41 Oct-41
Special Service Battalion 07-Oct-42 01-Nov-42
10 South African Infantry Brigade 01-Nov-40 04-Apr-42

1st Pretoria Highlanders 26-Sep-41 Dec-41

1st Regiment Botha Jul-40 Sep-40

2nd Natal Mounted Rifles Apr-41 30-Nov-41

2nd Witwatersrand Rifles Oct-40 28-Nov-41

Prince Alfred's Guard Jan-41 04-Apr-42

Regiment Suid-Westelike Districtke Jul-40 01-Sep-40

The First City Regiment Nov-40 Apr-41

The Kimberley Regiment 22-Jul-40 Sep-41


South Africa 23-Aug-40 04-Apr-42


3 South African Armoured Division
04-Apr-42 Formed by redesignation of 3 SA Infantry Division
07-Oct-42       Redesignated Mobile Field Force, though appears to have still been referred to as 3 SA Armoured Division
17-May-43 The division is disbanded

Divisional Troops
Armoured Cars

Special Service Battalion 04-Jan-43 09-Feb-43 as an Armoured Car


7 SA Motorised Brigade 04-Apr-42 16-Jun-42

07-Dec-42 17-May-43
8 SA Infantry Brigade Nov-42 ? Dec-42 ? in Nov-42 as

8 Training Bde ?,

in Dec-42 as
8 Armd Bde ?


South Africa 04-Apr-42 17-May-43


with thanks to David A Ryan for additional details

17 May 2009


Contact Steve Rothwell with comments and additional information